More hexies…

Hello

Hope your week has been good.

Poppin in to share an update on my long term project – Hexies.

Hexies templates cut from some old cs.

img_8314-640x427

Hexies ready to be joned together

img_8316-640x427

My little pile is growing!

img_8317-640x541

All Laid out.

I have not started sewing these together yet.  Not sure I will use all these Grandmother’s garden hexies in the same project.  My plan is to balance brights and pastels with prints and plains. This could be a never ending project!

img_8312-640x439

Another update.

I decided not to paint my find.  The paint colour matched my walls!

Before

img_8274-640x538

Now

img_8310-503x640

With some of my other punches.

img_8311-640x451

I also have a little set of drawers with CARL punches which were my late mother’s.  I kept them for the children to use in projects. I could say her stash of punches are one of the things which got me started on my paper craft journey along with a demonstation at a neighbours house. I am hoping now they are in easy reach they will get a lot more love.  Embarassed to say some of these have had very little love at all although Ms A does use them for her paper crafts and school projects.

On another note Uni goes back for Mr M this week and the last of the after school sports starts. Lets hope I can get into a routine and find some time to enter a few of my favourite challenges.

Thanks for stopping

Until next time

Cheers

Vicki

8 thoughts on “More hexies…

  1. Your hexies look amazing – I agree, that if you decide on mixing pastels and prints, the stash will grow exponentially! I find this happens when I’m paper piecing – cut another pattern paper and off I go on another matching exercise lol! Love your punch storage – I didn’t use mine much once I discovered dies, but after buying SU punches, I reach for them often for that quicker result when you need multiples at once – much quicker to punch 50 circles than running it through the die cut machine 50 times! I use Ikea rails for my punches, and have them above and around my work bench. But I do love dies too!

    1. Thanks Ann. Yes using punches is much quicker than dies. I find since I put my die cutting machine and dies on the bench top too I use them more -they are just easier to get too. Hoping I will have the same result with the punches. I’m afraid if I can’t “see” my supplies they don’t get much love. Have seen the IKEA rails used and love the idea. My hubby doesn’t like putting screws or nails in the wall! Not even picture frames – a little frastrating cause 5 other people in this house like to hang things on the wall. Had thought of using a piece of board with the rails before I found this.

Leave a Reply

